Media Inquiries

Chris Wells
Phone: 202-580-9780


PMC Press Releases

« Back

PMC to Recognize Raju Kucherlapati With 12th Annual Leadership in Personalized Medicine Award

WASHINGTON (June 29, 2016)


On Nov. 17, 2016, the Personalized Medicine Coalition (PMC) will present its 12th Annual Leadership in Personalized Medicine Award to Raju Kucherlapati, Ph.D., Paul C. Cabot Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School, in recognition of his efforts to accelerate progress in personalized medicine through a range of initiatives in science, business and policy.

In a letter nominating him for the award, Stephen L. Eck, M.D., Ph.D., Vice President, Oncology Medical Sciences, Astellas Pharma Global Development, praised Kucherlapati’s organization of the Personalized Medicine Conference at Harvard Medical School, noting that "absent Raju’s dedication and leadership, the shift in medical care to personalized medicine would have taken a decade longer.”

Kucherlapati has had an outsized impact on personalized medicine.

His scientific achievements include contributions to the first mapping and sequencing of an entire human genome, which many believe was a stepping stone for medicine’s move toward personalized medicine. Kucherlapati’s work on that project was focused on human chromosome 12. He has also contributed to developments in gene targeting and homologous recombination, and developed a large number of mouse models for human disease as well as several techniques for modifying genes in mammalian cells and cloning human disease genes. The author of more than 450 peer-reviewed publications and a former member of the editorial board at The New England Journal of Medicine, Kucherlapati is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading geneticists. 

He is also an entrepreneurial business leader who holds 12 patents. He has served as a co-founder or board member for a wide array of personalized medicine companies, including Abgenix, AVEO Pharmaceuticals, Cell Genesys, KEW Group, Metamark Genetics and Millennium Pharmaceuticals. 

His contributions to the policy arena are no less impressive. He is a former member of the National Advisory Council for Human Genome Research at the National Human Genome Research Institute and served as co-chair of the steering committee for the National Cancer Institute’s Mouse Models for Human Cancer Consortium. He currently serves on the Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues and is a member of the National Cancer Institute’s Cancer Genome Atlas program as well as the National Academy of Medicine. 

Kucherlapati remains enthusiastic about the personalized medicine community’s collaborative efforts to improve patient care and the health care system through personalized medicine.

"I am honored and humbled by this recognition by PMC, the organization that has done so much to advance personalized medicine and to bring together a diverse set of organizations and individuals to promote this important field,” Kucherlapati said. 

Third Rock Ventures Partner Mark Levin, who also nominated Kucherlapati for the award, said his unqualified willingness to contribute to projects that could improve medicine is what sets him apart. 

"Whatever he can do to make a difference, Raju will be there,” Levin wrote. "No one is more deserving.”

PMC will present the award to Kucherlapati at 1:45 p.m. on the second day of the 12th Annual Personalized Medicine Conference, which takes place at Harvard Medical School.


Christopher J. Wells
Phone: 202-589-1755

About the Personalized Medicine Coalition:
The Personalized Medicine Coalition, representing innovators, scientists, patients, providers and payers, promotes the understanding and adoption of personalized medicine concepts, services and products to benefit patients and the health system. For more information about PMC, please visit

About the Leadership in Personalized Medicine Award:
The Leadership in Personalized Medicine Award recognizes an individual whose contributions in science, business and/or policy have helped advance the frontiers of personalized medicine.

Previous recipients include:

  • Janet Woodcock, M.D., Director, U.S. Food and Drug Administration Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
  • Elizabeth G. Nabel, M.D., former Director, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, National Institutes of Health
  • Ralph Snyderman, M.D., Chancellor Emeritus, Duke University
  • Michael O. Leavitt, former Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
  • Brook Byers, Founding Member, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
  • William S. Dalton, Ph.D., M.D., President and CEO, Moffitt Cancer Center
  • Leroy Hood, M.D., Ph.D., President and Co-founder, Institute for Systems Biology
  • Randal W. Scott, Ph.D., Founder, Genomic Health Inc., Chairman and CEO, InVitae
  • Kathy Giusti, Founder and CEO, Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation
  • Mark Levin, Co-founder and Partner, Third Rock Ventures
  • Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Institutes of Health

For more information on the award, click here.

« Back

Join Today

PMC members shape and advance the future of personalized medicine.
Join Today