About Us

PMC's Annual State of Personalized Medicine Luncheon

PMC's Annual State of Personalized Medicine Luncheon Address at the National Press Club provides a forum for attendees from across the health care spectrum to engage health care leaders in a discussion of the issues facing the field.

2018 Luncheon

At the 14th Annual State of Personalized Medicine Luncheon, titled Public Perspectives on Personalized Medicine: A Public Opinion Survey Launch Event, PMC unveiled the results of a representative survey of 1,001 Americans that explored awareness of personalized medicine, reactions to value propositions based on the field’s ability to improve the quality and cost of health care, and concerns related to ethics, privacy and access.


Media Coverage

» BioSpace: "Survey Shows Most Americans Not Familiar with Precision Medicine"

» Bloomberg BNA: "What Does Trump Drug Cost Plan Mean for Targeted Therapies?"

» Business Insider — Digital Health Briefing: "Most Americans Unaware, Concerned About Precision Medicine"

» FierceHealthcare: "Survey: Patients are Ill-Informed About Precision Medicine"

» GenomeWeb: "Public Awareness of Personalized Medicine Not Growing in Step With Industry, Survey Shows"

» Healthcare Informatics: "Personalized Medicine Awareness Low Among U.S. Adults, Survey Finds"

» Inside Health Policy: "Survey: Americans Enthusiastic About Personalized Medicine, But Worried About Cost"

» STAT News (op-ed): "A Focus on Cost Instead of Value Threatens the Future of Personalized Medicine"

Previous Keynote Speakers

Eric Dishman
, Director, All of Us Research Program, U.S. National Institutes of Health (2017)

Stephen J. Ubl, President, CEO, PhRMA (2016)

Michael C. Burgess, M.D., Member, U.S. House of Representatives (2015)

Patrick Conway, M.D., Deputy Administrator for Innovation and Quality, Chief Medical Officer, U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (2014)

Janet Woodcock, M.D., Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2013)

Mark Levin, Partner, Third Rock Ventures (2012)

John Castellani, President, CEO, PhRMA (2011)

Margaret Hamburg, M.D., Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2010)

Denis Cortese, M.D., President, CEO, Mayo Clinic (2009)

Harvey Fineberg, M.D., President, Institute of Medicine (2008)

Michael O. Leavitt, Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (2007)

Andrew von Eschenbach, M.D., Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2006)

Francis Collins, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Human Genome Research Institute (2005)